Apple Cinnamon Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bliss

Honestly, I can’t believe I haven’t made the following recipe public until now. I think because it feels like something this good should just be common knowledge. Meanwhile, I’ve been having this for breakfast every day, not thinking twice that other people out there may not be having the same incredible morning experience as I. How selfish of me! But first, a few disclaimers:

  1. Peanut Butter Alert!! If you are not the type of person who can eat peanut butter off a spoon, than this recipe is likely not for you.
  2. If you are one of those non-morning, breakfast-skipping, “my-stomach-just-isn’t-hungry in the morning”, people, then this recipe is likely not for you. Or just have less and call it a day.

If you are still here – read on and be satisfied my friend.

I love feeling full in the morning, as though I’ve loaded myself up with good fuel for the day. As I mentioned before, I’m off the meat, wheat and dairy trains and by now you must be wondering, “Well, how does this girl get around then?” I assure you, train is not the only form of travel. Introducing: Apple Cinnamon Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bliss (chuga chuga chuga chuga toot toooot!).

Apple Cinnamon Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bliss

This recipe makes about 4-5 servings, and I usually make a pot to last the week.

1 cup rolled oats

2 cups water, add more as needed depending on your preferred consistency

1 tsp cinnamon

1 small apple, chopped

2 tbsp raisins

Cook the above (except the raisins) in a pot on medium heat for 4 minutes, stirring every so often to make sure the oatmeal isn’t sticking to the bottom of the pot. Add raisins, cook for another minute, and then remove from heat.

Now, the following is done on a bowl-by-bowl basis.

1-2 tbsp salted natural peanut butter

1-2 tbsp brown sugar or agave syrup (as you like, to taste)

½ cup of soy or almond milk

Dish out a serving of the oatmeal and cover with the above. Welcome to indulgent, “can-breakfast-really-be-this-good” bliss!

Try mixing it up a bit by using almond instead of peanut butter, cranberries instead of raisins, or banana instead of apple. Enjoy!

BRY

3 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bliss

  1. I also can’t believe you have never shared this recipe before!

    But YUM. This one is truly up my alley.

    Can’t wait till tomorrow morning.

  2. I have a variation of this recipe that I enjoy every morning. I make it from scratch each morning in an small mixing bowl (I eat lots and it really bubbles up in the microwave) and mix in the peanut butter and brown sugar while it’s piping hot (then make my green smoothie while the hot oatmeal melts everything). Once melted, I mix it well, then level the mixture in the bowl and scoop the middle out to make a little bowl-in-a-bowl for the almond milk. I fill up the bowl-in-a-bowl until it overflows, then generously drizzle maple syrup over the whole thing. There is truly nothing like that first bite of just the right proportion of oatmeal, PB, almond milk and a little pool of syrup on your spoon…

Leave a Reply

