Yum and Yummer

On a trip to Oregon last Fall, my everquest (and yes, I know that’s not a real word) for delicious vegetarian food led me to a café chain out of Eugene called Café Yumm. Somewhat fast-foodish, the concept behind this café is “the bowl” – a long list of ingredients, on a base of brown rice and beans, served up covered in the mystical Yumm Sauce. This delectable sauce has changed my conception of “bowl” meals (of which I’m a huge fan), for there is not a single thing this sauce does not make great. It’s also high in vitamin B12 thanks to the nutritional yeast component. Here is my variation of this sauce, inspired from Café Yumm and Bob’s recipe. Behold, the Yumm:

Sort of YUMM Sauce

In a food processor, combine:

¾ cup water (add more or less for desired consistency)

½ cup tahini

Juice of 2 lemons

½ tsp oregano

1 tsp maple syrup or agave (or use 2 tbsp apple juice and cut back on water)

1 tsp tamari

1-2 tsp yellow mustard powder

½ c nutritional yeast

¼ cup almonds

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small clove garlic

Blend until smooth. I put this on everything; my favourite combination is steamed beets, asparagus and kale on top of quinoa. However, this would go well on top of virtually anything, or as a dip – it even makes a great base for a vegan pizza! Enjoy my friends.

BRY

3 thoughts on “Yum and Yummer

  1. Thanks for the shout-out. Quinoa is one of my favorite substitutes for rice in a homemade Yumm! Bowl. Asparagus and kale sounds amazing, too. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

