I ate too much (and Debbie’s Peanut Butter Coconut Squares)

Yep. I made the most delicious peanut butter chocolate covered squares (see below). And I ate too much. I remember when I used to binge on granola. The very act had me filled with shame, self-hatred and remorse. My therapist at the time asked me what I thought someone watching me eat all that granola would think. The answer he suggested was “wow, that girl really likes granola!” The rest of it, the judgement, the shame, the disgust, was my story. And for the record, I DO really like granola. I also really like chocolate covered peanut butter squares!
The difference between the girl who “really liked granola” and the one who ate too many peanut butter squares on Sunday is that there was no shame attached to the latter. It was quite simply “okay.” That okayness opened up a dialogue. It allowed for curiosity so I could check in with myself and see what was going on. What was propelling me to overeat? You don’t get answers to those questions (you don’t even get to the questions) when there’s shame and judgement; you just get stuck. So be kind, be gentle, allow, and be curious.
So how about that recipe!?
Here it is, taken from La Dolce Vegan by Sarah Kramer.

Debbie’s Peanut Butter Coconut Squares

2 cups corn-flake type cereal (I used kamut crisp)
1 cup crispy rice cereal (I used brown rice)
2 tbsp shredded coconut, unsweetened
1 cup salted peanut butter (or add 1/2 tsp sea salt)
½ cup maple syrup or brown rice syrup ( I used maple and used about ¾ cup)
1 tsp vanilla extract

My Topping:
8 oz good quality vegan dark chocolate
3 tbsp soy creamer
1 tsp vegan margarine

Lightly grease 8×8 pan, set aside. On medium heat, stir together peanut butter, maple syrup and vanilla in small pot. Pour over cereals and coconut and mix together until well blended. Press down into pan evenly. In a double boiler (I use a heat proof glass bowl in a pot of shallow water) heat soy creamer, chocolate and margarine. Once melted, drizzle over squares. Refrigerate at least one hour before serving. And enjoy!

BRY

Leave a Reply

