The Elusive “Balance”

Balance seems to be the word of the day…..every day. People talk about it like it’s the ultimate goal, something to strive for, the one thing that will make everything else fall into place and bring peace into their lives. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not knocking balance. In theory, balance is great! And for periods of time, we may even experience balance. But in my experience, life is in constant flux, a pendulum that is forever swinging from one side to the other. Why do I say this? Well, right now I am completely off-balance!

For a while there, I felt like things were calm. I was enjoying a lot of quiet time and stillness. And then in one fell swoop, I got catapulted right back into very active and busy living. It’s a bit busier than I’d like, but here’s what I realized: as long as I have my anchor, I am fine. I can get through anything.

Everyone has a different way of “anchoring” down – there is no right way. For me, it’s my morning spiritual practice. For you, it might be a cup of tea in the evening after a long day, or a long walk outside in nature. If we can do the same activities constantly without thought (see What’s Working, What’s Not), why not make one of them something that anchors us. Your anchor should be something that:

  • Brings stillness and awareness
  • Makes you stop, even if just for 5 minutes
  • Reconnects you to your sense of being and purpose

I don’t know what that looks like for you. But I do know that without my anchor, I’d be blown about by every little wind; every rock of the boat would send me overboard. What I propose is that rather than staying in that state of constant striving for balance (and thus resisting where you are at here and now), ground down. Throw that anchor overboard and know that whatever comes your way, you can handle it.

What’s your anchor? Care to share?

BRY

Leave a Reply

