A Bliss-Out

Recipe: Spaghetti (Squash) and Vegan Meat Balls

Are you connecting with your bliss? I’m not just talking about joy and passion, though wherever bliss is to be found they are usually not far away. Nay, I am talking about a sense of communion with the divine – a oneness with the universe and a sense that all is okay, that you are exactly where you need to be. It is an awestruck wonder that reverberates through your being, bringing feelings of safety and connectedness.

Sometimes bliss finds us when we aren’t looking, overtaking us when we least expect it. Other times we can seek it by way of meditation, or through another way of connecting with the big picture, such as being out in nature. It’s a merging of the trust that all is right in your world, and a sense that we are but a small part of something so much more. The experience is peace in our hearts and exuberance for life.

This experience can find us, or we can increase our chances of finding it by making ourselves more conscious. The more conscious we are, the more receptive we become. My bliss found me smack dab in the middle of a yoga class on Sunday. I was doing a sufi grind when suddenly I felt my heart power open and in came pure and complete BLISS. It was as though I was just slightly above my body; my mind was blank and I was pure heart.

If you have ever stood and felt small before a big vast ocean, or stopped to watch the sun rise, you surely know what I’m talking about. So what about trying to create more of this in our lives? What are the ways that get you there? How can you come home to this inside yourself? What’s your recipe for bliss?

And speaking of blissing out…..food! Uh huh. Spaghetti squash and vegan “meat” balls – that’s what I’m talkin’ about! I had this at a restaurant the other day. I’ve made something similar at home before, but I think this experience made me re-think just how amazing this combination actually is! And it’s really simple.

Spaghetti (Squash) and Vegan Meat Balls

1 spaghetti squash

2 tbsp olive oil

Vegan meatballs (click for recipe)

Your favourite marinara sauce (if anyone has a good recipe, please share!)

Bake squash face down in ¼ inch of water at 350 degrees until soft. Scoop out flesh, drizzle with olive oil. Top with vegan meat balls and warm marinara sauce. Sprinkle with fresh parm cheese (not vegan, I know) or nutritional yeast.

One thought on “A Bliss-Out

  1. Thank you once again for always posting just what I need to be reminded of , and at the precise moment in time too! You really have a gift , thank you for sharing it with me.

Leave a Reply

