Sweet Spots

Recipe: Aj’s Marinara Sauce

We all need moments of mother love. Often we eat or turn to other self-destructive behaviours as a form of self-soothing, a wayward attempt at mothering ourselves. We hunger for sweetness and nurturing and to be told that everything will be okay.

If we are lucky, we have one or two people or places we can go that provide that for us. Someone we can go to when we need to be held, or simply served tea and cookies. Though I’m continually learning how to step up for myself in these ways, we still need to tap into the mother-sources around us sometimes, especially when we it dawns on us that the sweetness we are seeking is not in those peanut butter chocolate squares we just baked and devoured (though they were pretty amazing! 🙂 ).

My Granny, the embodiment of a mother-source in my life, is passing. And I need her sweetness and her nurturing right now more than ever. But in the midst of this, an amazing thing is happening. I am finding sweetness popping up all around me – I am being held and supported. And, I am finding new ways of tapping into the mother within and she’s more loving than ever.

We all need to nurture and be nurtured – sometimes as part of an external exchange with others, and sometimes as part of our own inner process. We may need to seek it out and ask for it sometimes, and that’s okay too. There is much sweetness to be found, if we are open to it and allow it into our lives.

I had a recipe sent to me by a very sweet friend and (extremely talented photographer I might add!) in response to last week’s quest for the perfect marinara sauce. So use this recipe with those vegan meatballs, or topped over your favourite grain or spaghetti squash. There is something so comforting and “sweet” in a thick, flavourful tomato sauce. I have a feeling I’ll be eating a lot of this over the next few days…

Aj’s Marinara Sauce

1 can diced tomatoes

1 tbsp sundried tomatoes in oil

1 small clove garlic

1 tbsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp chili paste (sambal oelek)

1/2 cup stock or wine

handful choped parsley

1 small onion or shallot

Combine all ingredients except for onion and stock in food processor.  Blend until smooth. In sauce pan, sauté onion until soft. Add tomato mixture and stock. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Spots

  1. All I can think to say is “so sweet” — really! I believe that being able to find that motherly love inside ourselves is the ultimate path to freedom and peace. At least, that’s what’s worked for me so far…and it takes practice! xoxo

Leave a Reply

