Running

Recipe: Roasted Garlic Spread

I know what you’re thinking: this is a post about running to food and/or running from feelings. And you would not be wrong to think so, as that’s exactly the type of thing I would blog about; however, this post is ACTUALLY about running. That’s right: runners, shoe laces, cardio, sports bra – slappin’ on them shoes and hitting the trails – the real deal!

I started running again for the first time in four or so years, and for the first time ever, the desire to run was not motivated by the urgent need to burn off X number of calories or because I though my butt looked too big. My ears had started perking to various mentions of “running”, and a friend had recently mentioned how good it made her feel. My body started craving that exhilaration, the fresh air, the pumping of my heart, and the flowing of my blood. So a few weeks ago, I got out my runners, donned the running attire, and headed out with the pooch.

At first, it was really hard to approach running from a neutral place. As I got dressed with the intention to run, I noticed some of the old familiar ways of thinking about exercise in ED terms starting to surface and I had to resist the urge to size up my body in the mirror and think about what I could eat as a result of the calories I’d be burning! And the fearful part of me, the part that thinks that any day now all the hard work I’ve done on recovery will slip out from under me and I’ll be right back where I was, was telling me not to run. It was telling me I was re-entering the downward spiral into the vicious binge/purge cycle.

I decided to run anyway, on my own terms. I put zero expectations on myself: I dropped the idea that I had to run for X number of kilometres or minutes and decided I would run until I didn’t feel like running, and if I felt like walking, I would walk. There was no judgement, no right or wrong. The fact that I was running at all was a victory.

I’m really about trusting the body’s organic process. Just as my craving and tolerance for sweets has naturally lessened, I knew that when the time was right, my body would crave cardio again. If we listen and are receptive, we can trust that things just happen on their own time, without us trying to force them. So if it’s there for you, and it feels organic, why not explore a different way of being in your body? And, if it’s not, then don’t! While you’re at it, why not drop all the expectations and “shoulds” around it (I, in principle, tend not to do things with a “should” attached). Just as we can develop a healthy relationship with food, we can develop a healthy relationship with our body by simply listening to it.

Sometimes the simplest combinations can take us over the roof, of our palate, that is. This is so easy, but will take your bread eating experience to the next level. Roasting garlic is something you can do while you have the oven on cooking other things, if you think to do it. This spread is always nice to have on hand, so don’t feel like you have to plan ahead to make this. Just make it when it’s convenient. You won’t regret it!

Roasted Garlic Spread

1 bulb of garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup Earth Balance spread

salt to taste

Pre-head oven to 375. Cut top off garlic head and drizzle some olive oil inside. Wrap in tin foil and bake for 45 min or until soft. Once cool enough to handle, squeeze out roasted garlic into Earth Balance and mash in with a fork. Then, slather on your favourite sourdough loaf and consume in large quantities.

3 thoughts on “Running

  1. Great blog – I hate running. But going for a brisk walk without purpose is my favourite thing to do! I agree that we need to just get out there for the sheer pleasure and detachment of it!

Leave a Reply

