Hold Me: In the Arms of Mother India

As much as we think we can or ought to “do it on our own” – sometimes we can’t. Sometimes we need to accept the love and care of another. In fact, we must count ourselves so very blessed to have such people in our lives. I have just spent the last few days very ill, and if it wasn’t for the assistance of my dear friend and travel companion, I don’t know what I would have done. Oddly enough, at this very moment, I am crying in a sleeping car at 3 in the morning on the way to Agra, feeling absolutely sick to my stomach, and missing my grandparents like crazy.

Some of us may be the nurturers to those in our lives, We are the people others turn to for comfort and reassurance that everything will be okay. We may forget what it feels like to have a mothering source of our own. We can surrender that role and allow ourselves to be nurtured. I have never been in a situation before where I had to be so dependent upon one person. I am so touched by such unconditional, reassuring, unselfish giving that my friend has imparted to me. I’m sure to her, this is just what friends do, and I am humbled further. Not only that, but in India, everyone is your mother. If you are sick, everyone knows you are sick. Even the touts don’t approach you, and all the ladies (and the men) offer their advice for recovery, check up on you in the night, pinch your cheeks, etc; there were many caring people who extended themselves in one way or another. I guess sometimes we need to be in a position where we are forced to surrender to the care of another. Even just knowing that someone cares for you, albeit near or far, is a beautiful thing. Give thanks for your care circle, both immediate, and the one that sends you the people and the circumstances you need at exactly the moment you need them.

There’ll be no food talk today, I’m afraid. I can’t even stand the thought of food, let alone approach the idea of cooking with any sort of enthusiasm. Stay tuned for when my appetite comes back cause I’m gonna be HUNGRY!! Like ANIMAL! xoxo

4 thoughts on “Hold Me: In the Arms of Mother India

Leave a Reply

