Wu-Wei, my friend, Wu-Wei.

Recipe: Unreasonably Large Peanut Buttery Cookies
Are you feeling freaked out right now? Does it feel like everything in your life is in flux and you’re grasping for solid ground? If so, you are not alone! Almost everyone I know, myself included, is being challenged in this way. So many people are changing jobs, moving, ending relationships, and making other life-changing decisions. We think that by engaging with the external and diving head-first into the frantic we can quell this restlessness. And what better circumstances than these to remind ourselves that when things feel crazy on the outside, we will be best served by turning INWARDS.

It’s this idea of non-action, or as Lao Tze (of TaodeJing fame) would say, “Wu-Wei.” Nothing outside of you will bring that inner peace you seek. If you don’t know what direction to go, nothing or no one can tell you. The guidance comes from within, and we can only hear it if we take the time to sit there, in our own stillness and silence, and listen. When you feel the pressure to act, bust out the “Wu-Wei” and DON’T. I don’t know what it is about us humans that makes us want to create more chaos in the midst of chaos, rather than take a time-out and assess our inner needs and the situation. Be wary of this tendency in yourself: if you find yourself turning to food (i.e., sugar), shopping, or general crazy-making, pull back! The energy right now is conducive to this, but you do not have to partake. In the midst of all of this uncertainty, awareness is absolutely key.

I posted about Dreena Burton’s Super Charge ME cookies a while back — which I love. But then I had these AMAZING peanut buttery, chocolate chippity cookies at this restaurant in Portland and was inspired to create replicas. Immediately. I used Dreena’s SCM recipe as my base and worked to produce what you see below. What I changed: more peanut butter, no oil, all oats, and whole peanuts. Oh, and apple sauce. Oh oh…and BIG. And don’t omit the peanuts. I made them the first time without and it’s just not the same.
 

Recipe: Unreasonably Large Peanut Buttery Cookies

1 cup oats
1 cup oat flour
1/4 tsp (rounded) sea salt
1/4 – 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 –1/3 cup raisins or chopped dried fruit
1/4 c peanuts
1/2 c chocolate chips
1 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup ground flax
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 tbsp apple sauce

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C). In a bowl, combine dry ingredients (including chocolate chips, raisins and peanuts) and stir well. In a separate bowl combine the rest of the ingredients and stir until well combined. Add wet mixture to dry, and stir until just well combined. Use a silicone baking sheet or parchment paper. The key to these cookies is BIG. Spoon batter onto baking sheet evenly space apart, and lightly flatten. You will likely only get about 7-8 cookies if you go for the big guns. Bake for 15 minutes and remove to cool. I left mine on the sheet until they firmed up.
One thought on “Wu-Wei, my friend, Wu-Wei.

  1. […] I really haven’t known what to write this week – partially because I’ve been in some muck. And by “muck” I mean I’ve been in futile resistance to feelings that a) I don’t think I “should” have, and b) These feelings are painful and I (quite frankly) don’t want to feel them! [read: No no, please, anything but this feeling!] I really am not interested in these feelings, but so far, every attempt at making them go away has been ineffective: Intellectualization. Denial. Journaling. Praying for a shift. Googling the feeling for sage advice from some internet guru on how to make it go away (yes, I did this!)—and these escape attempts are intermittent with periods of wallowing, of plain old feeling sorry for myself and letting the world be painted the same shade as my feeling—this is my attempt at the “acceptance” approach. So where’s the balance? What’s the “wu-wei?” […]

Leave a Reply

