The Direct Route

Recipe: Platform-for-your-jam Corn Muffins

As odd as it may sound, a binge can often be the quickest way back to self-care. It’s the big white flag that waves “surrender!” It’s the moment where we decide to either continue shutting our self out, or to bring compassion to our self and our situation, and shift into curiosity.

Binge Road is not a dead-end street! If we’ve gone down Binge Road, there’s a reason why: we had to have been switched off enough that going into autopilot with our food didn’t even register. So while it would be great if it would register and we could course-correct before the damage was done (and all that remains is an empty cookie bag and a big bloated belly), the reality is that this isn’t always the case. When this happens, the next pivotal moment is how we respond.

You may have already written yourself off and decided you’re a failure (What’s the point? Why not keep eating? I can’t believe I did this to myself….AGAIN). Or maybe your mind is busy devising a strategy of how to counter the calories: No food until dinner? Laxatives? Two hours on the treadmill? But there’s always that THIRD option: the “love yourself through it” option. This is the one where you choose to cuddle up with yourself and stay present with your physical and emotional discomfort and ride it out. Because it passes—it does. It’s about saying, “Okay, this happened. What’s going on for me? Can I just be with it, breathe with it?” Think of the binge as your thru road home, your gateway back to safety.

I am not a “southern Belle.” I don’t have memories of waking up on a Sunday morning to the smell of freshly baked “cornbread and beans” or of helping my grandma make her “special recipe.” In fact, I don’t think I’d ever even tried cornbread until I was well into adulthood. So don’t ask me WHY I’ve been craving the stuff like it’s going out of style….I decided to make cornbread muffins only to realize I was fresh out of cornmeal. “No problem,” I thought. “I’ll substitute with corn flour.” I made a few other modifications (see below) and popped them in the oven. It was only then that I started to google people’s horrendous experiences doing exactly that. “It will taste like a door stop” wrote one individual. And while I wouldn’t go as far as to say that, they are definitely a muffin you will want to eat slathered in Earth Balance and a lot of strawberry jam! But I actually like them–enough to post the recipe. The cornbread craving continues, but for now here’s a slightly plainer, denser version of a morning muffin. Think of them as a platform for your jam.

Platform-for-your-jam Corn Muffins

Modified from this recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup corn flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2/3 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 3 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
 Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. Stir all ingredients together in a large bowl. Pour into a lined or greased muffin pan. Bake for 12 or so minutes, or until springy. I made about 8 small muffins with this recipe.
  3. Serve with Earth Balance and a nice thick strawberry jam.
2 thoughts on “The Direct Route

    • Hi Finding Strength – it’s thinner and a bit more concentrated in terms of sweetness, but subbing the two shouldn’t make an awful lot of difference. Make sure you have some good jam for these babies!

Leave a Reply

