It’s been a long day.

Recipe: Three Cs Salad

Sometimes cooking is the only thing that will do it for me. Cooking, creating, it’s all the same. I come home, and if the day has been long (especially if it’s been long!), I cannot wait to get my hands in the kitchen! I just get in the zone, and before you know it, I have three or four things on the go at once! I mean if the oven’s on anyway for those cookies, may as well roast some almonds for some almond butter! Or if the food processor is already dirty, what the heck—let’s make hummus! It doesn’t matter. My kitchen is where I ground myself. It’s where I mellow out, dabble, explore, create. If I’m sad, anxious, or restless, it is here where I just let go. It’s an act of pure flow. I’m not thinking, I’m not worrying, I’m focused. As you can see, I’ve been busy:

3 Cs: comfort meets colour meets crisp!
This cornbread bows to nobody’s jam!
This could be yours (if you own a ridiculous oversized donut mould!)!

So I’m just curious – where is it that you find your flow? What is your way of release or unwinding? How do you get lost in creativity? Just wondering…… Stay tuned for next week when the ever-amusing Eric Wang from healthdemystified treats us to a guest post (and recipe!)! Eric, by-the-way, recently added me to his list of Nine Rising Stars in the Health and Fitness Blogosphere. Check it out!  For now, I’ve posted my 3Cs salad recipe, pictured above. And no, this salad does not involve John Ritter. Enjoy!

3 Cs Salad

(serves 2)

2 cups red cabbage, sliced in food processor

1 cup carrots (sliced in food processor or cut thinly)

1/2 cup chickpeas (cooked and rinsed)

1/2 cup fresh dill (chopped)

1/2 cup fresh parsley (chopped)

1/2 tsp herbamare (herbed sea salt but regular sea salt will do)

juice of 1 lemon

1 tbsp olive oil

Directions: Heat a small amount of water (just enough to cover the bottom of the pan) over medium high heat. Add cabbage and cover for two minutes. Add carrots, and cover for 1-2 minutes more. Still want some crisp left in those Cs. Turn off heat, stir in chickpeas, herbs, salt and lemon juice. Drizzle with olive oil and serve. Simple but marvellous!

Leave a Reply

