You’re not the boss of me! (and Tahini Treats)

Recipe: Tahini Treats to Beat the Sweet

Do you have those people in your life that love to express an opinion about everything you do, whether you ask for it or not? It might be a parent, a friend, a co-worker or a relative. Sometimes these people can be annoying because deep down inside we suspect they might be right—and we aren’t quite ready to look at our truth quite yet. Other times, however, these people, who are often subtle yet pointed, can plant seeds of doubt around our decisions and motivations that slowly start to colour our outlook.  It could be an under-the-breath remark, a change in tone, a raise of the eyebrow—any of these things could rock the boat of our inner knowing if we aren’t strong in our own truth. We may begin to question our own intuition about something and, over time, may even come to defer to this person who supposes to know us better than we know ourselves!

So what’s this really about? It’s not really about the other person, now is it? Or whether what he or she says is right or wrong. The question isn’t “What gives that person the right to intrude on how I live my life?” but rather, “Why do I give that person the power to do so?” When I have been presented with this situation in my own life, I can usually say at the root of my susceptibility is my desire for approval from another person. When that root drive is coupled with some ambiguity or uncertainty in my life, I make for a most impressionable candidate.

Situations such as this are a great map back to our truth. We can use our reactions to outside opinions as information about where we stand on something. It can signal a need to pull back, check in with ourselves, and see what’s true for us. And if we are giving a lot of weight to what someone else thinks, that too is a call to come back home and know that the only person you are accountable to is yourself. We may choose to limit our time with these opinionated folk, or perhaps limit the information we share with them. Or, allow them to express their opinions all-the-while knowing that you will need to have a post-interaction debrief with yourself to filter out what is yours from what is theirs. There is only one authority on you—and that is YOU. When in doubt, go to the source!

Okay, moving on to more *ahem* important matters: FOOD! We all know I have a sweet tooth (or 32 to be exact). As a little experiment, I’m taking a break from sugar—not a permanent break mind you, but just a small hiatus to see what life feels like without sweet being the predominant flavour in my food. Since I’ve been avoiding sugar, I can sure tell you that everything tastes a lot different. I can taste things on a far more subtle level. When I did have a bit of cake yesterday, holy was it sweet and I could feel the sugar jolt to my system. This sugar-free experiment is great, of course – but what about those times when I just want to feel a bit indulgent? These treats were inspired by another friend who had cut sugar out of her life. She made a variation of these one evening, and I just thought they were the perfect little treats: not too sweet, but rich and creamy! They use stevia and carob powder, two things I don’t! But why not something for everyone on this blog? Thanks for the inspiration, Lisa! [a side note- apparently Carob does contain some natural sugar, so these puppies aren’t 100% sugar free….I tried! Sigh!]

Tahini Treats to Beat the Sweet

5 – 7 drops vanilla flavoured stevia (adjust to taste)

¼ tsp sea salt

½ cup tahini

¼ cup carob powder

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ cup coconut butter (meat of a coconut) softened

Stir ingredients together until well mixed. Poor into an ice cube tray or other silicone mold and freeze. If you lack a good mold, just pour the mixture into a square container (a square Tupperware container with hard corners works great) and cut squares to serve. Keep these in the freezer as they melt into gooey deliciousness awfully fast, as you can see from the photo.

One thought on “You’re not the boss of me! (and Tahini Treats)

Leave a Reply

