Sitting Still (and Chocolate PB Cups)

Recipe: Chocolate PB Cups

Do you ever wonder what it is we go to such great lengths to avoid when we make ourselves so busy? The obvious answer might be “feelings” – and sometimes that’s true; there are often uncomfortable feelings that are hard to sit with. But is what we are running from really as bad as all that? I wonder if it’s more that we’ve forgotten how to spend time with our “self” – we really don’t know how to just sit and be.

“But I spend lots of time alone,” you’re thinking. I’m sure you do — with your computer, and your phone, and your TV, and your book –all on rotation. And I get that! Sometimes when I do get some time to myself, taking that five is the last thing I want to do. I want to go on auto-pilot. I want to be distracted, I want to tune out, and sometimes I want to numb out (aka, hello cookie dough)!

When we do enough of this, in combination with our go-go-going, we miss those check-in points that are at the heart of good self care. How do I know this, you ask? Well, for the first time in a while, I sat still. I needed to. I didn’t want to, but I needed to. I had been avoiding the “check in” because I wasn’t quite sure what I’d find: I’d not been sleeping well, I’d gotten lazy about nutrition, and I hadn’t been on one of my long nature poochie walks in a couple of days. But when I showed up, and sat with myself, I received a warm welcome and it felt really really… Nurturing. There was no dramatic outburst of tears, no hideous monster that emerged from the shadows—it was simply like being greeted by an old friend saying, “hey, where ya been?” Being present for myself felt nurturing. It made all that avoidance and all that fear around going “there” seem a bit silly, actually. My self had been there all along. All that it took for me to check in was to be still. To stop, light a few candles, sit down against my favourite wall, and breathe. When was the last time you checked in? What does your check in look like?


I’m going to give you a recipe, but before I do, here’s a piece of advice. Don’t make these. Really, just don’t. You won’t be able to stop eating them. And when you give them away, your friends won’t be able to stop eating them. And once you know how easy they are to make, the cycle will continue. They are RIDICULOUS. Suffice it to say, you’ve been warned. Proceed at your own risk.

Chocolate PB Cups

Makes 12 reeses-sized cups and a few more little guys (like those pictured above)

1 cup peanut butter

¼ cup nutritional yeast

½ tsp salt

1-2 tbsp agave

1 cup dark chocolate chips (vegan) or good quality chocolate bar

1 tsp coconut oil

Mix everything together except for chips and coconut oil. Give it a good stir. That’s it. Now using a double broiler method, melt chocolate chips with coconut oil over medium heat. While that’s melting, place paper liners in muffin tins. Once melted, pour chocolate to coat the bottom of each liner, then stick in the freezer until chocolate hardens (5-10 min.) Remove from freezer and proceed to scoop a tablespoon or so of your yummy mixture into each liner and flatten a wee bit. Spoon more melted chocolate over to cover. Repeat for all and then freeze to set — and wait for the remorse to set in.

3 thoughts on “Sitting Still (and Chocolate PB Cups)

Leave a Reply

