imperfection parfaite (and spelt crepes with two fillings!)

It has felt like forever since I’ve posted, but I’m still alive! In fact, my reasons for not posting have a lot to do with some good ol’ all or nothing thinking going on: “I can’t post unless I’ve cooked something amazing AND have taken photos AND written a great post!” I can’t post something unless it’s PERFECT! And let me tell you, things have been so busy over this last little while, it’s all I can do to feed myself, let alone cook, create, and document! After chatting with some of my ladies about how I had neglected the blog and how much I missed it, I realized I was not exactly practicing what I preached and “being real”! It has been a cool opportunity to catch myself in some old scripts and realize how I want to present this image of “having it altogether” to you all, and, let’s be real here—how real is that!? I needed to put my “should list” to the side and just show up, and so here I am. Isn’t it all just about showing up? Whether it’s for your blog, a yoga class, a party, a loved one, or for yourself, we owe it to the world to show up and be real. So all that to say, I’m back, I’m here – showing up and minus the self-imposed perfectionism and all-or-nothing antics—and let’s see what this new “imperfection parfaite” bloggin’ B looks like.

Yep, somebody did this.
Yep, somebody did this.

 

Paris spread
and this…

We had a party. A Paris-themed staguette brunch, to be exact—to honour our bride’s inner café sitting, Siene strolling, cigarette smoking, baguette caressing, croissant devouring self before she graces down the aisle! Above is what happens when you get a bunch of creative and classy Paris-chique women in a room and ask them to cook something. I made the crepes (vegan, spelt flour of course) and two fillings to accompany: fresh blueberry maple compote and an asparagus, mushroom goat cheese savoury. I found a great crepe recipe in a recent cookbook purchase, which I will share with you here, along with the two fillings I came up with (both super easy).

Oui, this happened too....
Oui, this happened too….

Spelt Crepes (from the highly recommended 30-Minute Vegan)

1½ cups spelt flour

½ tsp sea salt

1 tbsp tapioca flour or arrowroot (I used arrowroot)

2 ½ cups water

1 tbsp neutral oil and more for cooking

Combine dry ingredients and stir to combine. Whisk in wet ingredients until batter is smooth. Using 1/3 cup measure, spoon batter over crepe pan rotating pan to cover and filling in any holes with extra batter if need be. Cook until the edges start to dry and then flip (you’ll know you’re using enough oil and the crepe is ready when you can flip it without a spatula doing the fancy “crepe in the air” trick. I had help from a handsome man on the cooking part, and my crepes turned out wonderfully–I definitely recommend help from a handsome man for this step. Cook crepes and stack with a piece of parchment in between each crepe. These can be eaten cold or re-heated as necessary.

Blueberry Maple Compote

2 cups blueberries

1 tbsp maple butter

½ tsp vanilla

Heat blueberries over medium heat in a small pot until they begin to get liquidy and bubble. Add maple butter and keep cooking on a low simmer until thick. Turn off heat after 3-5 minutes and add vanilla. Scoop into crepes (add ice cream?!) and …. Ready!

Asparagus, Mushroom Goat Cheese Savoury (with vegan option)

2 cups sliced mushrooms

1 cup asparagus pieces

1 scallion

¼ cup fresh basil

1/3 cup goat cheese (or try toasted pine nuts processed into a crumble for vegan version)

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

In frying pan, heat olive oil and sauté scallions and mushrooms over medium heat until mushrooms sweat (5 minutes or so). Add asparagus and cook another couple of minutes, stirring often. Remove from heat and stir in basil, goat cheese (or pinenuts), salt and pepper. Line crepes and roll. Oui oui mes amis!

Leave a Reply

